Barbados Tridents team

Jason Holder-Led Barbados Tridents Win Second CPL Title

The Barbados Tridents outplayed and outlasted the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the CPL finals 2019 to clinch their second tournament title. The Jason Holder-led team was on the brink of elimination when they only managed three victories in the first half of the game. This was a three out of the eight games at the beginning of the game. However, they stunned everyone when they won four out of the remaining five games in the tournament to win the title.

The Guyana Amazon Warriors were the team to beat after winning all their games in the tournament with 11 straight wins. They were well placed to take home the trophy into the finals, but they stumbled on the last day. This was the chance the Barbados Tridents team was waiting for, and they grabbed it with both hands. The Tridents had their remarkable comeback when Jonathan Carter scored 50 runs from 27 balls which was a considerable feat. Raymond Heifer’s performance with a four-wicket haul sealed the deal and gave the Barbados Tridents the league title by 27 runs.

The Barbados Tridents won their first CPL title in 2014 under the captaincy of Keiron Pollard. Their second win put them in the same league as the Trinbago Knight Riders and Jamaica Tallawahs, also multiple-time CPL winners. This win meant that the Guyana Amazon Warriors had their fifth finals loss in seven tournaments.

After winning all the games they played through the season, the Warriors were unbeaten. However, when it mattered most, they failed to deliver. This was their first loss of the season, which was their last chance at the title this season. Although they only needed 172 runs to win, they kept losing wickets. The opener Brandon King kept firing, but there was no support. Shoaib Malik, the captain, was in the middle, and as much as he tried, he only got four runs from 11balls. Shimron Hetmyer and Chandrapaul Hemraj, who had performed well earlier in the season, only scored a few unnoteworthy runs.

Tridents’ Raymond Heifer had a stellar performance when he took four wickets for 24 runs. Ashley Nurse and Harry Gurney got two wickets, each adding to the total. Hayden Walsh’s single wicket was the boost that got the Barbados team further. After Holder’s first bat, Johnson Charles and Alex Hales scored 43 runs to start them off. Of the 43 runs, Charles scored 39 runs from 22 balls, while Hales scored 28 from 24 balls.

After losing wickets in the middle overs, Jonathan Carter’s impressive half-century towards the end won them the title. It was his 50 runs from 27 balls that pushed the Tridents’ total to 171 for 6. Carter had a total of four fours and four sixes which had everyone stunned. This performance earned Carter the title of Player of the match.

With the CPL 2021 coming up, the Barbados Tridents now, Barbados Royals are out for blood. They are excited about the new changes in their franchise with their name and brand change. This motivates them to get back their CPL title. They are set to play CPL last year winner Trinbago Knight Riders, on 28th August and winner of CPL all seasons.

CPL T20 Winners List

With the start of CPL 2021 a few days away, fans are on the edge of their seats, waiting in excitement. Everyone is rooting for their favorite team, and they cannot wait for the tournament to begin finally. The CPL 2021 schedule will be the ninth edition of the Caribbean premier league, and it will run from 26th August to 15th September.

Since its inception, CPL has showcased the best cricket performances in the world. World-class players were brought to the stage, and they played like the stars they are. The CPL T20 winners list is as follows:

  • Jamaica Tallawahs won the first-ever CPL tournament in 2013.
  • Barbados Tridents took the title in 2014.
  • Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel won their first and only CPL title against Guyana Amazon Warriors in 2015.
  • Jamaica Tallawahs won their second title beating Guyana Amazon Warriors by nine wickets in 2016.
  • Trinbago Knight Riders won their maiden Championships in 2017.
  • Trinbago Knight Riders held on to their title and became the first to have back-to-back CPL final wins in 2018.
  • Barbados Tridents beat the Guyana Amazon Warriors again to win their second title in the 2019 league.
  • Trinbago Knight Riders proved to be the team to beat when they won their third title in 2020.

Keep it here for more.